The Dubious Distinction of the Auto-played No-Hitter

Posted by Paul on October 11, 2012 | Short Link

Larry Jansen of the New York Giants has no-hit the Pittsburgh Pirates in my 1953 Brooklyn Dodgers replay.

This was an auto-played game, so I didn’t get to see it unfold or live the magic as it happened. This is the second no-hitter in the thousands upon thousands of Strat-O-Matic baseball games I’ve played. The first, by 1985 Dwight Gooden, was also an auto-played game.

Who doesn’t love a no-hitter? I had the extraordinary opportunity to see one in person this year, and I’ll never forget it.

But the auto-played no-hitter is a sweet-and-sour event.

Larry Jansen never threw a no-hitter in his real-life Major League career, and despite averaging over 270 innings a year in his first five seasons, winning 23 in 1951, and making two All-Star Game rosters, he will forever be known for little more than notching the W on the last day of the 1951 season. That was, of course, the “Shot Heard ‘Round the World” game. It’s an honor and distinction, to be sure, but certainly not the legacy Jansen would have preferred to carve when he made it to the bigs in 1947.

Other dubious distinctions of Larry Jansen: Mickey Mantle’s first World Series hit came off Jansen, when the Mick bunted for a single in Game 2 of the 1951 World Series. Joe DiMaggio’s double off Jansen in the eighth inning of Game 6 was the final at-bat of the Hall of Famer’s Major League career.

In his no-hitter, Jansen walked the first batter of the game and allowed another walk with two-out in the second inning. After that he retired twenty-two straight to earn a display case in my personal Hall of Fame.

Here is the boxscore from Jansen’s Strat-O-No-No:

Larry Jansen and the New York Giants no-hit the Pittsburgh Pirates in an auto-played Strat-O-Matic game in my 1953 Brooklyn Dodgers replay

PS: I enjoyed this article on the beat-up 1952 Topps Larry Jansen card pictured above.

One Comment

  • Chris says:

    I had exactly ONE no-hitter in a SOM game (well, two, but the first one, I was really really young, and I cheated — Tom Seaver went 8 2/3 innings, and let up a hit. I decided the umps got it wrong and ruled it “foul” and he got the batter out) – In my later, more mature years, I overrode my original decision :)

    But, in a FTF league, only about 6-7 years ago, we had ‘all-time franchise’ teams. I had the Astros (talk about a pitching staff!) And, on opening day of the season, JR Richard no-hit the Mets. It was really amazing (and, probably more so, because it was against another live person ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2011-2014 One for Five All rights reserved.
This site is using the Shades theme, v2.1.1, from BuyNowShop.com.